To Touch Souls

“We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need silence to be able to touch souls.” – Mother Teresa

Why is silence such a staggering, if not authoritative word? To some, winter is the great silence. Some may liken silence to death or sorrow. Alright. I know. I don’t do broody emo posts … but think about it. Silence. Mother Teresa eluded to great things coming from silence. Now. I am not going to argue with the brilliance of Mother Teresa, but I am going to beg a bit of a different point of view. The natural and celestial scenery she describes as existing in silence actually offer me the opportunity to HEAR my favorite symphonies in the entire world.

What do you enjoy hearing in your moments of “silence” in nature? I love working in “silence” to hear birds chirping, water dripping off my freshly watered pots, wind rustling through the plants and trees, swings squeaking in the near distance, freshly baited fish hooks slapping the unrippled water, dogs panting happily … I could go on for ages. But my goodness! I feel so rich in those silent moments.

In the garden, outside in the fresh air – I realize that I am sharing moments that are capable touching the souls of those I love. I consider it a gift to work side by side with my children, free of distractions and external noises that rob us from hearing the beauty of Mother Nature’s symphonies. These moments are tremendously beneficial when teaching children about all of the good that is surrounding us. To give the gift of encouraging curiosity, to help hone in horticultural skills, to assist in how to discover often missed or unseen natural habitats – all done “silently” by virtue of simply providing an OPPORTUNITY and not jam it up with words – WOWZA, that’s something to behold! I want to practice the art of providing a canvas and keeping lips zipped and suggestions stuffed, we don’t offer enough silent canvas moments anymore.

Now that May has literally poured and stormed herself onto the calendars here in my zone 5B gardens, I am greatly looking forward to getting outside and working in the gardens. I have a lot of clean up to do, I leave grasses tall and brown for the winter birds and leaves on top of the landscaping beds to help insulate my perennials from Old Man Winter. But the clean up is a rather fun excursion, I am always tickled when I brush away leaves and say hello once again to my garden treasures that provide beauty all season long. I relish the quiet moments I will spend chop chop chopping away grass reeds and sedum canes. The only thing I am not too keen on is chasing the crazy weeds away from my garden beds, this year they have bounced back with a vigor like I’ve never seen. I suspect our mild winter could be to blame for that.

Here’s to May and all the sounds you can hear in total silence!

2013-03-09 12.35.11

Leave a Reply

